Carriage House

The Carriage House

Stop 22

142 E. Haynes St.

Originally a carriage house and stables, this building has housed numerous businesses in its time.  At one point, it was a collection site for Foremost Dairies, a company organized by James Cash Penny, Jr.  Advertised as the “longest milk route in the world,” this organization operated in twelve Southern communities. Each day, dairy farmers would bring milk to this site to be transported via rail or truck to people throughout the state. 

The railroad tracks on East Haynes Street are some of the town’s earliest connections to other counties in the state.  The locally owned and operated Sandersville Railroad was organized in 1893.  Initially just 3 miles long, the rail serviced passengers, hauled mail, and shipped freight from Sandersville to Tennille. In 1916, Ben Tarbutton assumed management of the line. Writing in the 1930s, Mr. Tarbutton sent post to the president of the Pennsylvania Railroad to ask for a pass exchange, a common practice among railroad officials at the time. The Pennsylvania Railroad president observed that his railroad was thousands of miles long, while the Sandersville Railroad was only three miles.  Mr. Tarbutton replied, “Yes, that’s true but mine is just as wide!” Interestingly, while the Pennsylvania Railroad is no longer in business, the Sandersville Railroad has been serving the industrial needs of Washington County for more than a century. The depot for the station can be seen to the north nestled between two tracks. The raised platform was added in 1923, the same year that the roads of Sandersville were paved to make way for cars and trucks. In 1949, the original wooden exterior was bricked up, and in 1970 the railroad was moved to South Smith Street.